Day 2 Sessions & Conclusion of the GED Summit

Day 2 at the C20 Gender Equality & Disability (GED) Working Group Summit (Bhubaneshwar) included messages by several individuals and organizations on Gender Equality & Disability, the presentation of the 4 priority summit policy recommendations and the concluding session

In the early morning recap session,.Smt. Smriti Zubin Irani, Honourable Minister, Women and Child Development, Government of India, was the chief guest; Shri. Ramu Damodaran, the First Chief of UN Academic Impact, was the keynote speaker, while Liza Clark, the Secretary-General of the International Peace Bureau, and Sadhvi Bhagawati Saraswathi, from the Global Interfaith WASH Alliance (GIWA), sent in video messages.
Bhavani Rao, C20 GED Indian Coordinator, and Swami Dayayamritananda Puri, the Executive Director of the MA Center, discussed existing government policies related to gender equality.

Ms Anne Basham, Chair, International Task Force on Human Trafficking, was the keynote speaker for the plenary session that followed.

Later a plenary session was dedicated for presentations by various C20 engagement groups:
– For B20, Shivani Kumar, Representative and Lead, Gender and Advocacy, CII Foundation
– For U20, Utsav Chodhury
– For W20, Dharitri Patnaik
– For G20 Secretariat, Swati Paul
– Manish Bhatia, Assistant Director National Council for Cooperative Training (Ministry of Agriculture)
– A representative from the G20 Sherpa Track WG on Education

Meg Jones, GED international coordinator, was the speaker at the plenary session dedicated for the introduction to drafting a White Paper, during which the top 4 priority policy recommendations were revealed to a panel of esteemed guests including: Dr. Achyuta Samanta, KIIT, Swami Amritaswarupananda Puri, representing C20 chair, Mata Amritanandamayi, Mr. Vijay Nambiar, C20 India 2023 Sherpa; and Mr. Riccardo Moro, Sherpa for C20 Italy 2021, who joined the event online.

In the concluding session, the next steps in the G20 context were presented by Mr Vijay Nambiar, and Mr. Riccardo Moro gave the concluding remarks.

Click to download Photo Book from the event

Related Posts